Progress Report

Saturdays I review what I’ve accomplished or not accomplished through out the week. Did I meet the goals I set in my Focus post on Monday? Did I regress? Let’s see what grade I got this week.

(stock photo, purchased; I don't steal off the internet)

My goal for this week was to wake up earlier. Monday, when I was writing my Focus, I had woken from my slumber at 7 that day. I didn’t actually get up, but I was pretty awake while lying in bed for another hour; so I felt pretty confidant on Monday that I could accomplish this task.

Then, Monday night, I got REALLY into reading Emma Who Saved My Life and stayed up till past 1 in the morning. Despite that, I still managed to get up around 8am.

Tuesday night I finished the book early (I always finish books the day they go up on here) and I sat around trying to talk myself out of wanting fast food for hours. Distracting myself by playing Precipice Of Darkness (Episode 1) . After I finished the game though, the fight with my gluttony ended…and gluttony won. I drove to McDonald’s at 10:30pm, got me some McNuggets then came home, changed into my pjs, ate my grease and watched Nana. I hadn’t planned on staying up too late, I’ve seen Nana a couple of times already and just put it on to distract me from my bad habit. However, I got sucked in and stayed up till just after 1am…again.

Wednesday morning was not a repeat of Tuesday morning. I didn’t even realize my alarm was going off till just after 8am. It was then I realized what was actually getting me up on Monday and Tuesday. The construction that some one is doing at one of the neighboring houses (and has been doing since  last weekend) is what was making me wake up; and Wednesday morning there was no hammering or sawing going on. That night, I got in bed before midnight, but stayed up to just past midnight reading BUST magazine (I ordered some back issues and renewed my subscription, so excited about this development).

Thursday morning, I got up early enough. Not as early as I’d like, but not as late as I usually would get out of bed. I took an decongestant/allergy pill once at work, because I was snuffly and sneezing. I then spent the afternoon speeding because of it. When I got home, I quickly crashed and passed out. I woke around 9pm, found something to eat, took out the trash and then it was back to bed around 11:30pm.

Friday morning, I woke up 10 till 6am and realized I never turned on my alarm the night before. I turned it on and went back to sleep. I woke up for real just after 7 (progress!) but I just had this really intense dream and so I stayed in bed till almost 8 trying to complete it before giving up and getting up. Still, this was early enough for me to have breakfast, make coffee and pack a lunch for the day. After work, I had dinner and then somehow managed to pass out and not wake up till Saturday morning.

Now it is 8:45 am on a Saturday and I am up, brewing coffee and planning my day. I wanted to get up early on the weekends too, and before 10am is early on the weekends for me. However, I hope that I don’t have to sleep for over 12 hours in order to get up early. My social life would severely suffer.

GRADE: D-I didn’t really try. I mean I set my alarm earlier but I didn’t go to bed earlier (well, except Friday night) or follow the go to sleep rules (you know, don’t eat for at least 2 hours before you go to bed, same for smoking, don’t read, etc.). Next week, I hope I can do better.