Halloween Movie Night: Rocky Horror Picture Show

To me, no Halloween is complete without The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Even in Mississippi, where I grew up and went to college, there were still midnight showings of Rocky Horror on Halloween. Here in NOLA, there are monthly midnight showings of it, but the Halloween one is always special (and always sold out by the time I make it to the box office >.<).

I love this movie so much that when I was in charge of my social club (kind of like a sorority) in college’s theme for the annual SongFest (once about singing, but has since evolved into theatrical dance routines) competition between the social clubs, I had us do a Rocky Horror themed show. We shoulda won, but how do you compete with a group of girls doing a patriotic salute to the troops?

To me, Halloween is always a time for rice, water guns, hot dogs, toilet paper and of course, time to do the Time Warp again!


Each week, I’ll be sharing some of my favorite movies to get me in the Halloween spirit. Feel free to comment and share your own Halloween cinematic faves, or if you too watch the movies I share to get you going for All Hallows’ Eve!

