Halloween Movie Night: The Halloween Tree

Every year, around this time, I think about The Halloween Tree. It was a staple in my life from, oh I’d guess 2nd to 5th or 6th grade. My teachers would put this on for us to watch every year. This was back before you had to get parental permission to watch movies at school.

It is the story of five children on Halloween. Four are dressed up and ready to go trick-or-treating, but one of their friends is gravely ill. They follow his “ghost” (even though he isn’t dead) and try to save him at the Halloween tree. The tree’s keeper then teaches the children about the origins of their costumes (because he is disgusted that they don’t know), a witch, a mummy, a skeleton and a monster. They travel back in time to Celtic druids at Stonehenge and then the witch trials, to ancient Egypt, to Mexico for Dia de los Muertos (for the skeleton costume) and to an unfinished Notre Dame (gargoyles = monsters) (also, I think I’m mixing up the order).

It is based on the book by Ray Bradbury, who also narrates the animated film (produced by Hanna-Barbera).  I’ve never read the book; and in fact, until I was looking up the movie to jog my memory of it, I don’t think I ever knew it was a book. I need to go to the library and see if I can check it out.

Have you seen or read The Halloween Tree?


Each week, I’ll be sharing some of my favorite movies to get me in the Halloween spirit. Feel free to comment and share your own Halloween cinematic faves, or if you too watch the movies I share to get you going for All Hallows’ Eve!

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween Movie Night: The Halloween Tree

Comments are closed.