Vaginal Fantasy Book Club

I spoke last week about how Felicia Day’s Vaginal Fantasy Book Club is the inspiration for the one I started with my friends. I wanted to talk more about Day’s book club this week.

Here’s a quick synopsis from the Vaginal Fantasy wiki page:

Started in January of 2012, The Vaginal Fantasy Book Club focuses on romantic fiction, usually with science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, or supernatural elements. The club centers around the monthly Google+ Hangout book discussion, the Goodreads group forums, and generous amounts of alcohol. In August of 2012, the Hangout moved from Felicia Day’s YouTube channel to its current home on Geek & Sundry.

Felicia Day coined the term “vaginal fantasy” when she first got a Kindle and could purchase “smutty” books without embarrassment. The name of the group was meant to be a tounge-in-cheek nod to the romance genre. By including the word “vaginal” in the name it was meant to demonstrate that the club would be unapologetically about female-centric novels in genres (sci-fi, fantasy, etc.) whose authors and central characters have been, until recently, overwhelmingly male.

Vaginal Fantasy strives to be intersectional and trans* inclusive, and as such wants to acknowledge that not all women have vaginas/not all who have vaginas are women. Everyone is welcome to participate. Please note, however, that due to the nature of the subject matter and sometimes graphic content, this book club is for mature audiences only.

I’ve been a subscriber to the Geek & Sundry YouTube channel for a long time now. Mr. LL and I love to watch Co-Optitude together, I used to watch The Guild (which is how I discovered Geek & Sundry), we of course LOVE Tabletop (I mean, have you seen my posts over at Part Time Monster?). I had seen the Vaginal Fantasy uploads, but they are over an hour long and I didn’t think Mr. LL would be into them (he gets a kick at listening to them as I watch and he plays Diablo 3). So, one day when Mr. LL wasn’t home and I had some time to kill, I watched one. I was hooked.

Up until this month, I’ve never read the current book. Mostly because I’ve been just watching old posts, so I didn’t even know what the current book was at any given time. However, this month, I decided to officially “join” the club. VFBC has two picks a month, a main pick and an alt pick. I only read the main pick.

They alternate between hosts to determine the books for each month. July’s books were picked by Bonnie Burton. The main pick, the one I read, was Greywalker by Kat Richardson.

I technically listened to this book. I got the audio book so I could listen to it at work and in the car, and not have it cut into my reading time for this month’s BB&B pick. I caught myself staying in my car for an extra 5-10 minutes just to keep listening. I couldn’t wait to get my headphones in at work and find out what happened next. I LOVED this book. You can check it out on GoodReads for a full description and reviews, but if you like mystery/detective stories that feature ghosts, witches, vampires (and I suspect a werewolf) then you should definitely pick up this book. VFBC is for romance genre books, and I didn’t find a whole lot of romance in this book. However, it is the first in a series so I suspect sexy times may happen in later books.

Also, I had an a bit of fan-girl moment on Twitter. I was talking about how much I loved the book and thanking Bonnie Burton for picking it and this happened:

Twitter

How cool is that?! I was so pumped about this interaction; and from what I’ve seen on the videos, all the lovely ladies in the VFBC are really good about interacting with the fans and folks who comment on the forums and ask questions during the Google+ Hangouts. So, in other words, they are awesome people.

I’ll be sharing their monthly picks as well as BB&B’s. I’ll also link to their videos when they post. I hope you enjoy them and will read along with me!

