April 2014 Reading Review

These are all part of the Guardian Trilogy. Being such, I will do a more in depth review of the first one and less-so for the other two so as to not give away any plot points and spoilers.

Reading is Sexy | Lazy Lady

Amethyst (Guardian #1) by Heather Bowhay

Amethyst by Heather Bowhay

This is the first book in the series. We are introduced to our narrator, Lexi, as she is starting her post-high school, pre-college life. She and her best friend have moved to the town where they will be attending college before classes start. They have found jobs and are making friends. But Lexi has always been plagued by visions. Visions of horrific accidents that are about to happen. She has tried to ignore them in the past, but she can’t put that on her conscious ever again. Now, she must find a way to hold a job, make new friends, figure out what the guys in this town want from her and try to save the lives of the victims she is increasingly getting visions of.

Lucky for Lexi, there is a strong community of like-gifted people in her new home town. Will they help her, or just give her more questions than answers?

 

Reading is Sexy | Lazy Lady

Linked (Guardian #2) by Heather Bowhay

Linked by Heather Bowhay

This is the second book in the series. I’m not going to go into much detail about this one because I don’t want to give away anything. However, I will say that Lexi forms stronger bonds with the magical world around her, but she isn’t quite sure she can trust her new friends just yet. Not with everything.

 

Reading is Sexy | Lazy Lady

Dentelle (Guardian #3) by Heather Bowhay 

Dentelle  by Heather Bowhay

I was hesitant to call these series a “trilogy” because the last book, Dentelle, leaves itself open for more books down the road. However, it does give the reader a nice stopping point as well, in case it truly is the end of the series. I don’t want to give away too much, but I will say this, all three books worked for me. I enjoyed the characters and their growth throughout each book. I never felt overwhelmed by sappy, teenage romance and felt that part had a good balance with the theme of discovering oneself as we transition from child to adult.

The first book, Amethyst, is free for the Kindle and the Kindle app. I enjoyed it so much, I purchased the other books (obviously).

……

Do you have any suggestions? You can go back through the archives of Reading Is Sexy to see my other books or check out my profile on GoodReads.com

2 thoughts on “April 2014 Reading Review

Comments are closed.