March 2014 Reading Review

2-Reading Is Sexy

These are all part of the Divergent Trilogy. Being such, I will do a more in depth review of the first one and less-so for the other two so as to not give away any plot points and spoilers.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent by Veronica Roth

This is the first book in the series. We start of in a dystopian future Chicago, following Beatrice Prior as she goes through the steps of choosing which of the 5 factions she will spend her life with, now that she is 16. During the testing phase, we find out she doesn’t fit in just one faction. This means she is “Divergent” and that is a secret she must keep in order to survive.

Tris (Beatrice) as she chooses Dauntless, the military-esque faction in her society. We are with her as she goes the struggles and perils of Dauntless initiation as well as her own internal struggles over what exactly does it mean to be Divergent.

There is also a romance element to the book, but it’s not overwhelming. It’s a couple of teenagers having a teenage romance. But they are also, ya know, trying to survive and not be murdered in their sleep. So they have different priorities than normal teenagers.

I’ll go ahead and say it, yes there are similarities to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins; the similarities being: there is a female heroin who gets responsibilities she never asked for thrust upon her in order to survive and save the ones she loves; it is a dystopian future, with corrupt government leaders; it’s a YA novel. That’s about as far as I can see the similarities, and honestly none of those make me feel like I’m reading a copy-cat or anything close. I’ve been in love with dystopian future fictions for A LONG TIME and always will be.

Also, one thing that made me really really really want to read this book was the factions. Y’all. They are f*cking color coordinated. I LOVE THAT. Gray for the selfless Abnegation. Blue for the Erudite who value knowledge and education over all. Black for the brave and headstrong Dauntless. Red/yellow for the peaceful and happy Amity. Black and white for the Candor, who believe in truth. I mean, come on! Isn’t that great?!

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book. The story kept me interested. The romance was just enough to spice things up every now and then but without making me want to roll my eyes. The action was great and I feel paced the story really well.

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

This is the second book in the series. I’m not going to go into much detail about this one because I don’t want to give away anything. I will say this, I DEVOURED this book. Loved it. I read it super quickly. Which brings us too…

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth

 

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I’m going to be honest. I haven’t finished this one yet. I’ve read TWO OTHER SERIES because I couldn’t bring myself to pick this book back up. I will finish it though. I feel I need to know what happens to Tris and Four and their friends/family.

The main thing that put me off this book was the stream of consciousness. In Divergent and Insurgent we are seeing the events unfold and the inner thoughts of Tris. In Allegiant, Ms. Roth decided we needed to split our time with Tris and Four. No thanks. Maybe by the end of it I’ll be like “Oh my god that was totally the only way to do this book!” But right now, I just get annoyed that I have to go “Wait…who is the voice in this chapter? Damn it!”

……

Do you have any suggestions? You can go back through the archives of Reading Is Sexy to see my other books or check out my profile on GoodReads.com

