Red Beans & Rice with Cornbread

3-Lazy Cooking

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

In honor of yesterday’s festivities (which btw, I’m sorry I didn’t get around to posting! I’ll post a make up Reading Is Sexy later today), this week’s Lazy Cooking is a New Orleans’ tradition. Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread. I make my red beans and cornbread as easy as I possibly can without going out and just buying some (which I am NOT above doing, as there are many places around me that make WAY tastier versions).

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

Ingredients:

  • Can of Blue Runner Creole Cream Style Red Beans
  • Rice
  • Sausage of your choosing, we usually just buy what’s on sale
  • Spices; we use Cajun Season, Garlic Powder or Garlic Salt, Sea Salt, and Pepper
  • Martha White’s Cornbread mix

First, cook your rice. I didn’t photograph this step because really, rice is the easiest thing in the world to make. If you aren’t sure how, the bag has instructions.

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

Next, cook your sausage. I like to just put it all in the pan whole and then cut it up in the pan after I turn it. It makes it easier for me to cook evenly, but you do what you like.

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

Then, after you’ve cut up the sausage, add the whole can of red beans. I can’t remember the ounces for this can, it’s just the large can. Turn the heat to Medium to Medium-Low and give it a stir every now and then.

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

Once you feel like everything is heated through, add your spices. I did about a tablespoon of the Cajun spice and a teaspoon of everything else. Mr. LL likes it spicier than I do, so I let him season his in the bowl.

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

Cornbread anyone? I love this stuff because if I am out of milk, I can just add water instead. The instructions are on the package.

Red Beans and Rice with Cornbread via Lazy Lady

I coated my loaf pan with butter; 1) so the cornbread would come out, and 2) so that the edges would be nice and buttery. I poured in the batter in and baked according to the package.

All that’s left is to plate it up with rice and you are good to go! This meal usually feeds us for two nights and I can get one lunch out of it too.

(P.S.-I just realized I have photos with two different pans…I have no idea why. We make this a lot, maybe I reshot some images? Your guess is as good as mine.)

One thought on “Red Beans & Rice with Cornbread

Comments are closed.