California Casserole

3-Lazy Cooking

California Casserole

This dish is something my mom made us all the time. It’s been altered from whatever its original recipe was because we had a picky eater in our family (cough). I think the full recipe would make it more “casserole” than the version I cook. Nowadays, it’s more like a one pan pasta dish, which is fine by me.

This dish is super easy to make and one of my all time favorites.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb of ground beef
  • egg noodles
  • 1 can (8oz) tomato sauce
  • 1 can of tomato soup
  • 1 can of cream corn
  • mustard
  • chili powder
  • shredded cheese of your choice, we use sharp cheddar (optional)

Some of the ingredients you’ll need.

First, you’ll need to brown your ground beef. Once browned, you’ll want to transfer it to a paper towel laden plate to drain off the excess grease.

While you are browning your meat, don’t forget to boil your noodles.

After, you drained the beef, return it to the same pan (I like to give it a wipe before I return the meat, again to remove extra grease). Then add your tomato sauce, tomato soup and cream corn to the cooked meat.

Next, add about a tablespoon of both the chili powder and the mustard (or just season to your tastes).

Once your noodles are done, strain the water out and then add the cooked noodles to the pan.

Now, you could stop here. This is a perfectly delicious meal as is, and in fact, for many years I did stop here.

But, Mr. LL is a cheese man, and the original recipe does call for cheese and some baking to be done, though I don’t really recall the specifics. So, we just grab a handful of shredded cheddar and add it to the top. You can put a lid or foil on it so it melts a bit more, but your just gonna mix it in as you eat it. Be honest.

And there you have it. From my family to your’s, California Casserole. Enjoy!

