Finding Balance

or you could call it "Lyn wanted a day to just ramble"

Life is a balancing act. Trying to find that perfect balance between responsibilities and desires. It’s not an easy task and sometimes, I’ll be the first to admit, the balancing act wears me out.

Let me lay it out for you. I work 8+ hour days, 5 days a week. Now, I’m very lucky and love my job (most days 😉 ), but like everyone else who has full time employment, I spend most of days and hours at work. TGF works 8+ hour days, 5 days a week as well (sometimes more), and our hours don’t match up. He has to be at work for 7 in the morning and I have until around 9 to get to work. He gets off at 4:30, I get off at 5:30 at the earliest. Right now, however, our hours a bit more in line with each other. Since TGF is without a vehicle these days, I have to take him to work, but he doesn’t have a reliable ride home every day; so my boss, very graciously, allowed me to change up my hours Monday through Wednesday (Thursday and Friday are press days, so it makes it more inconvenient for me to leave earlier on those days). Now, I come in to work after I drop TGF off (usually getting in at 7:30) and leave at 4 in the afternoon to pick him up from work.

This temporary arrangement has allowed for one part of the balancing act to get a little easier, and that is to find more time to spend with TGF. Before, it always felt that by the time we were both home, all we could do was make and eat dinner and then go to bed. This lead to many fast food dinners, so we could spend more time hanging out together.

For awhile though, before my schedule shift, I had a pretty good routine going. I’d get up with TGF and then do my 5K training and clean up around the apartment. Nothing major, just do the dishes, make the bed and maybe pick up the clothes from the day before. It doesn’t sound exciting, but I liked my routine. Now, my life feel chaotic. I don’t know when to work out, the apartment stays in a constant state of chaos and filth and it is driving me crazy. It doesn’t help that I’ve got a wedding coming up!!

I’m trying to find balance. I’m just lost in the process.

