Monster Mash

or "cursing while using glitter"

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

I made these monster and NPC pieces for our D&D game. I could have just as easily used pennies or just these glass gems as is, but I wanted my newbie D&D players to really get into the game.

What I used:

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

Supplies.

  • Images I found via Google Images (thanks random people I’m not crediting because I didn’t get the information), printed out
  • Scissors
  • Glass vase filler rocks
  • Mod Podge
  • A red marker or pen (Sharpies bleed through the paper, so beware!) [not pictured because I am a dolt who had to run around to find one when I got to this step]
Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

Cut out your monsters. Then, mark an X or whatever indicator you like to show that your monster has died in combat…if your adventurers are lucky!

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

Apply Mod Podge to the flat side of your clear glass gems.

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

Put your monster images on the Mod Podge, X side down. I like to then flip them over and give ’em a good press.

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

Let them dry. It won’t take long, but I like to give them at least an hour, just to be sure. Also, see how you can see the X through the glass? Neat, huh? You could also make these the other way, but I found that the more intricate the art, the harder it is to see through the glass.

Monster Mash | Lazy Lady

When they are all done and dry, I add them to the monster compote dish. 🙂

That’s it! I used this technique for a work of art I created in college (except you saw the images through the glass on that one). Happy DMing!

