February/March Reading Review

rawr

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. F. Baum

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

This was a book I read via the Free Books app on my iPad. It has the entire series! I’ve never read any of them, and I was excited at the opportunity to read them. I really loved ready the original tale of Dorothy and her adventures in Oz. The good ol’ Judy Garland movie did the book justice…to a point. The land of the porcelain people, the story behind the flying monkeys, and the way the Scarecrow, Tin Man and Cowardly Lion each ended up ruling different parts of Oz by the end of their journeys were new to me and I loved the way Baum settled the adventurers’ stories. I am really looking forward to the rest of books.

 America, You Sexy Bitch: A Love Letter to Freedom by Meghan McCain, Michael Ian Black

America, You Sexy Bitch: A Love Letter to Freedom by Michael Ian Black & Meghan McCain

Confession: I haven’t made much headway with this book yet (or should it be “still”?). I’ll have to give you, my lovely readers, a full review when I finally get back to reading this book and finish it. As it is, too many other books that seemed more appealing have been holding my attention instead.

 How to Save Money at Home: A Room-by-Room Guide to Cut Spending Read My rating: 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars[ 3 of 5 stars ]4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars How to Save Money at Home: A Room-by-Room Guide to Cut Spending by Kim Parsell

How to Save Money at Home: A Room-by-Room Guide to Cut Spending by Kim Parsell

It’s a good thing this book was free. Not that it wasn’t well written or anything of the such! It’s just, if you read a lot of money-saving books and blogs, like I do, then this book doesn’t cover anything new. Honestly, the Economides covered this more thoroughly in their book. Still, it did offer some links to pages I want to check out, but haven’t gotten around to, that she provides to aid her readers in their frugal journey.

Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris

Grave Sight by Charlaine Harris

I love, love, love the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, but have never really read any of her other work. My mom’s friend loaned the first three (of four, as far as I can tell) books in this series, and as she finished them, she handed them off to me. I gobbled them up. This series is about a woman whom was struck by lightening in her teens. Ever since that fateful incident, she has been able to find the dead and see the scene of their death (but she can’t see who killed someone or anything like that). She’s made a living, with the help of her step-brother, out of capitalizing on this unique ability. She goes around on jobs around the country that require her to either find a dead body or tell/confirm the decease’s cause of death.

In the first novel, a young man is killed, ruled a suicide, and Harper is called in to find his missing girlfriend–whom is believed to be dead. Harper does her job, but is trapped by the mystery around the death of these two love birds and the secrets the small town they lived in holds. Oh how I love paranormal mysteries!

