January’s Reading Review

rawr

Going To The Bad by Nora McFarland

Going To The Bad by Nora McFarland

Found this in the crap box at work, and since I liked the last Lilly Hawkins Mystery I got out of there, I figured I’d read this one to past the time. A little side note about myself, I HATE reading a series out of order. With that said, I am fairly certain that there was a book in between A Bad Day’s Work and this book. Aside from being annoyed that I wasn’t getting some of the references in the book some things I missed, it was just as good as the first book. Still no Evanovich or Harris, but McFarland kept my attention.

Our Valued Customers: Conversations from the Comic Book Store by Tim Chamberlain

Our Valued Customers: Conversations From The Comic Book Store by Tim Chamberlain

I originally got this book to give to Maile as a “Thank You!” for all the work she put into helping me host Annie’s bachelorette party. I ended up reading it myself and forgot to wrap it up. She saw it but it was too late at that point. She likes the blog, Our Valued Customers, and it is hilarious. If you like comic books and frequent the shops, you will get a laugh at the things people say in there.

Fanny Hill by John Cleland

Fanny Hill, or Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure by John Cleland

Fanny Hill was in the “Banned Books” section on the Free Books app on my new iPad (thanks, TGF!). I like reading about ladies of pleasure so I figured I’d like this book too. It was VERY racy. I blushed a bit posting it on my blog! There are A LOT of sex scenes, but by the end of the book I was desperate for plot and over the hot and heaviness of the book. Mr. Cleland wrote it while in prison, if I remember the little blurb I read about the book via the app. I have to say, that I definitely got that this book was written by a man to be in the perspective of a woman. Just saying. Still, if you want a racy book written in fancy words, pick up Fanny Hill.

