The Future Is Here

or you could call it "Lyn wanted a day to just ramble"

I am a little late to the “What I want to do in 2013” blogging-game, but here’s my thoughts on this year anyway.

After years of declaring myself a “not a resolution person” and yet posting resolutions on here anyway, I’ve finally given up on that label. I really consider them more like “goals” than “resolutions” though.

Before we jump into the new, let’s take a look at the old:

In 2011, I set myself up to be cleaner, more productive, more money conscious, find a therapist and work on my faith. I think I’ve been getting better and better with the cleaning; slowly but surely, at least. My productivity has gone poopy since the boyfriend, but in 2011 and 2012 I feel like I was pretty productive for a Lazy Lady. 😉 Definitely been super up on my money game. Like whoa. Never found a therapist or really do much with my faith though. Oh well.

And last year, I wanted to take more pictures–didn’t do well on this one; do more dates on the Date List–did do some of this one; update my portfolio webiste–I actually got rid of it, wasn’t worth the money as I don’t want to do freelance work right now and I’m very happy at my current job; try freezer cooking–still want to do this someday, but didn’t do it in 2012; bake my own bread–same as freezer cooking; and of course, be even cleaner, an ongoing journey.

Now it is 2013 and I have a new set of goals for myself:

  • Run a 5K I am currently training using a 0-5k app on my iPad so I can run in the Color Me Rad 5K in May. I’m nervous and excited at the same time. TGF said he’d do it with me, so at least we’ll be together.
  • Pay off my credit card  We put a lot of money on my credit card for xmas presents this year. I’d like to pay it off and leave it alone so it’s there in case of an emergency.
  • Pay off my loan to my grandmother A bit of a debt theme here, huh? Once I pay off my credit card, I’m going to put the money I was paying there towards the money I’ve been paying my grandmother. She loaned me $2000 when I moved to New Orleans over 5 years ago. I’ve been paying her back for just over a year now, but only $50 a month. I’d like to have it all paid off this year.
  • Start saving for some big changes I won’t go into too much detail here, but there are some big events coming this year (I hope) and even more after that, and I want to save up so the costs don’t hit TGF and I all at once.
  • And as ever, be cleaner!

There is so much more I want to expect of myself for this year, but I know that if I can keep it down to the major things I want to do/achieve, I’ll be less likely to end up disappointed.

What are your plans for this year?

One thought on “The Future Is Here

  1. Pingback: She Works Hard for the Money « Lazy Lady

Comments are closed.