Pretending to Craft Rewind: Star Wars Snowflakes

or "cursing while using glitter"

This was originally post 12/22/11 and reposted to help you with your Holiday crafting!

Sorry this is super late, everyone, but hey, that’s life. At least it is up on the right day.

Anyway, this was a craft I was hoping to do with my Gentleman Friend, but I kept forgetting to bring home the templates I printed for this project. So I had to do it by myself, which really was probably for the best in the end. I found these somewhere on the internet, printed them and didn’t go look at the actual directions for how to fold them (but you can do this project right by clicking here and following their instructions).

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • paper (I used 8.5″ x 11″)
  • scissors
  • template
  • x-acto (as I learned)
Gather your supplies.
Now, I made these the way I learned to make paper snowflakes as a child, and to do that you needed a “perfect” square, which letter paper is not. So, first I take one corner and fold it to meet the other side of the paper.
Next, fold up the extra paper and make a good crease there.
You can either cut along the crease or do like I do and lick the crease, thus making it easy to tear off (old school style). I then just kept folding the square into triangles.
Now, realize that the template is freakin’ huge and you have no idea what to do with it exactly. So, you hand draw the image on your paper (as you do so, you wonder how their template is a perfect triangle while your snowflake doesn’t make that shape).
Cut out your snowflake…until you realize that you can’t cut out those inside shapes with your scissors.
So you go get an X-Acto blade and set to work. This is why I’m glad my Gentleman Friend wasn’t here. You may recall, he is able to cut himself on plastic cups.

(see the marshmallow shooter post)

After many close calls between the X-Acto and your fingers, your finished! And at first, I thought, “Oh hey, that’s not too bad…it kinda looks like Darth Vader.”
Then I realized I might have made a Krampus snowflake.

If you don’t know who Krampus is, educate yourself.

I went on to make the Boba Fett/Clone snowflake, because I realized I wouldn’t have to use the X-Acto on it.

It turned out ok, I guess.
Though I’m pretty sure this is a Mr. T snowflake.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday! See ya next week!

