November’s Reading Review

rawr

The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Willams Chima

The Gray Wolf Throneby Cinda Williams Chima

The third in the Seven Realms series, and I think my favorite. We are following the tales of Princess Raisa and Han Allister. Raisa is a princess being forced into the politics of the realm, as she is the heir to the throne; but she is determined to forge her own path to the crown. Han is a former streetlord turned wizard fighting to make his past and present realities unite so he can achieve his ambitious goals for the future. I won’t say more than that, I don’t want to give away too much to any who haven’t read the series and want to. I do like this fantasy series very much. I got sucked into this book a lot while reading it.

It Looked Different on the Model: Epic Tales of Impending Shame and Infamy by Laurie Notaro

It Looked Different on the Model: Epic Tales of Impending Shame and Infamy by Laurie Notaro

Ms. Notaro’s humorist essays never seem to fail. I loved this book. It was hilarious and filled with the wit and humor of her past autobiographical works. If you love stories and trying on clothes you know won’t fit, being banned from holiday parties because you mouthed the words to Jingle Bells or Halloween mishaps while dressed up with a friend as Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? then you too will love this book. And all Laurie Notaro’s autobio works.

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

An in depth retelling of the 12 Dancing Princesses fairy tale. I love fairy tales. If you didn’t know that about me, know it now. I will read any I can get my hands on. I really enjoyed this classic tale told with more than just the basic facts. Also, as an added bonus, there are knitting patterns in the back! Why are there knitting patterns? Well, you’ll just have to read it and find out.

