Shrimp Etouffee

open package; put in microwave; heat; eat

TGF and I decided to try our hand at making a very common dish here in New Orleans, Etouffee. TGF really wanted to make crawfish ettouffee but I was against it, since crawfish is out of season and would be much more expensive than just getting some frozen shrimp.

We were going to follow a recipe, but that didn’t work out. We ended up having to improvise a lot, but it came out delicious.

Also, full disclosure, before we made this, I had never had ettouffee before. I know I know. I’ve lived in New Orleans for 5 years now. What can I say, I prefer jambalaya. Luckily, TGF worked for years in a restaurant and knew what it was supposed to look and taste like.

(I want to go ahead and apologize for these pictures in this post. TGF tried his best to get around me to take them while I cooked. I love him for it.)

Our Ingredients:

  • Blue Runner Creole Bisque Base (because we could NOT find any seafood stock)
  • Creole Seasoning (green onions, bell pepper, onions, celery and garlic–staples in Louisiana cooking)
  • Marinara Sauce (because we forgot to get tomatoes)
  • Frozen Shrimp, thawed
  • Butter, like 2 cups of butter I think
  • Bisquick, 1 cup I think (our flour had weevils in it, so we substituted this)

First, you want to melt the butter down in a large pot and add in the Bisquick/flour to make a roux. I didn’t brown the butter enough, but it worked out.

Next add your veggies and stock/bisque base. (The bisque base is full of more of the same veggies, we weren’t aware of that. It didn’t hurt the dish but it was very “seasoned”.)

Also add your tomatoes/marinara sauce.

Next add in your shrimp. Let them cook in the hot liquid, it won’t take long. After this we kept experimenting with our dishes consistency. Adding more bisque base to make it more liquidy and so on.

When you get it just right, ladle it over some cooked rice and eat! This is going to be making into the rotation of dishes we make over and over, that’s for sure.

One thought on “Shrimp Etouffee

Comments are closed.