August and September’s Reading Review

rawr

Since the hurricane interrupted my schedule, I combined the reviews for August with the ones for September.

America’s Cheapest Family Gets You Right On The Money by Steve Economides, Annette Economides

This book is all about how this family has lived frugally and there advice to do what they have done with their money (they paid off their house in 9 years with only one spouse working and kids!). While I wouldn’t do all the things they suggest, I found it a helpful starting point for someone who has never been taught how to manage money. I’ve set up a budget LINK loosely based on their examples and took notes throughout my reading of it. If you have no clue what you are doing (financially) and want to live debt free eventually, then I’d recommend this book.

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

The latest book in the Sookie Stackhouse series (or some call it the True Blood series, but the show is NOTHING like the books, in my opinion). It was a fun read for me, however I solved most of the mystery in the book right away and found myself frustrated that the clever Sookie didn’t see the links. Not a lot of sexy times in this book either, which is something that most of the books in the series have a good deal of; however, I was not put off by the lack of heat. It was nice to mentally return to Bon Temps, Lousiana, and catch up with the familiar characters in the series.

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

The second in the All Souls Trilogy, and actually I’m still reading it. So far so good. This series is fun for supernatural fiction fans who also like a bit of history thrown in. SPOILER ALERT In this novel, our main characters have gone back in time to find a witch to teach Diana how to use her powers and to locate the mysterious Ashmole 782–the book that began it all–before it was damaged and hidden. They are faced with the task of trying to fit into Elizabethan times (well Diana is, Matthew is a vampire who lived in the time). It was such an interesting read, and it tempted me to look up and find out if the nuances Ms. Harkness describes of the time were historically accurate (but I’m lazy, so I didn’t). By the end, they have altered history, found Ashmole 782 and learned new details about it, and returned to a changed present day (changed by their actions as well as the passage of time since they left). I was sucked into the book and hated to put it down. I was almost late to work one morning because I woke up and picked up the book! Read the first book, then go get this one (if supernatural fiction is your thing).

A Bad Day’s Work by Nora McFarland

A Bad Day's Work by Nora McFarland

The last of the Reader’s Choice books I had left to read. I actually lost this book for awhile, but found it right before the storm. It was a quick fun read. I’d like it to Janet Evanovich‘s Stephanie Plum novels, but less. Just “less.” It just jumped right into the action and the heroine’s abruptness was also in the plot line. Still, if you like modern mystery novels that throw in a bit of humor, then I recommend picking up this book, the first in its series I do believe. Sorry for the short review. Short read=short review. Thanks for picking this book, my lovely readers!

