Salad in a Jar-Southwestern Salad

open package; put in microwave; heat; eat

All over Pinterest there are pictures of foods in jars. The one that I wanted to try was the whole salad in a jar thing, since I find that my lettuce/spinach goes nasty quickly and this method should prevent that from happening. So here’s my version of a salad in a jar.

Ingredients:

  • Romain lettuce
  • Canned whole kernel corn
  • Tyson chicken strips (the kind that are all done up and even cut up for just this kind of thing)
  • Cheese
  • Tortilla strips
  • Spicy Ranch dressing

Now, all the internets will tell you to put the lettuce on top, but since I didn’t want to put the dressing in the jar with everything, I figured I could not do this. Y’all…put the lettuce on top. Otherwise when  you dump it in a bowl, all your toppings will now be on the bottom of you salad. Let’s get started!

I cut up the lettuce and jarred it as I went. I made three salads and jarred the leftover lettuce to make salads during the week for dinners.

Spooned in some corn from a drained can of whole kernel corn.

Plopped on some chicken and cheese and I was done!

I bring a ziploc of the tortilla strips so they don’t get soggy and a little plastic container with dressing in it with the salad jar when I leave for work in the morning.

These have been really delicious salads. I’m definitely going to keep doing this for my lunches during the week. Sunday, after going to the grocery store, I just assemble the salads and I don’t have to worry about it during “hectic” (aka-sleepy) mornings.

I just need to think of other “salads” to make. I’m pretty basic with my salads, so I’m going to play around with some combos and see what I like. Any suggestions?

