July’s Reading Review

rawr

I’m starting something new on the blog. As you have noticed, I don’t review the books I read. I simply show you what I’m reading/have read. Well, in light of reading books that you choose for me and having some of you ask me to give you at least a “did I like it” type review, I’m going to start reviewing the reads of the month on the last Tuesday of each month. Don’t expect any well written reviews. I’m lazy. I will however tell you what I thought about the books I read.

So, without further ado, let’s start the first end of the month reading review!

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

I really enjoyed this book. I saw the movie years ago and well after it was released. I thought the story was intriguing then; and since I had heard nothing of them continuing on with the franchise I figured if I wanted to know what was going to happen, I had best start reading the series. Being OCD, I had to start with the first book (plus, even without having read the books, the movie felt like it was lacking some parts of the full story). I’m glad I started from the beginning. I look forward to continuing on with the series. Thanks for choosing this book for me, dear readers!

The Tortoise and The Hare by Elizabeth Jenkins

The Tortoise and the Hare by Elizabeth Jenkins

I had read a synopsis and review of this book somewhere, years ago and added it to my “to read” list. When I started reading it, I had to read the inside book jacket to remember what this book was about. Then I had to try to remember why I wanted to read it in the first place. It was not what I remember wanting to read. It is a very good book though, and I couldn’t put it down. Somehow it reminded me of Rebecca a bit, but that might just be in the era and the tasks for a woman of the house that are in both books. There’s not much comparison as far as story goes though.

Mid-way through the book, all I could think was “this is SO sad” but by the end of it I was happy with the way Ms. Jenkins settled the affairs for all the characters. Also, the ending gave hope. If reading about the lifestyles and attitudes towards relationships in post-WWII England interest you, then I recommend this book.

I’m not going to review the magazines I brought to the beach. I love BUST magazine, and each issue has something I want to read in it. If you haven’t picked up an issue yet, do so. Also, I didn’t actually get a chance to read either of them while on my mini-vaca.

So, that’s it for my first end of the month book review. I hope you enjoy this new edition to the Reading Is Sexy part of my blog.

