Spaghetti Squash: Take One

open package; put in microwave; heat; eat

I’ve been wanting to try spaghetti squash for awhile now, and then I went to the grocery store and there was a HUGE pile of them! So I bought one, and held onto it for a bit before working up the courage to actually cook it.

I didn’t think to make the experience a Lazy Cooking post till it was already in the oven, so I don’t have any step by step photos, just the end of the process.

First, I cut it in half lengthwise, which was a bitch. Then, I scooped out all it’s innards (which made me wish I was carving a pumpkin). Finally, I rubbed the insides with olive oil and sprinkled them with garlic; placed the two halves face down on a sided cookie pan; and put it in the oven, which was pre-heated to 400°.

After 45 minutes, I pulled them out and checked that they were tender. They weren’t done yet, so I put them back in for another 15 minutes (but the really only needed like 7 more minutes). Once done, I let them cool for 10 more minutes. After they cooled, I took a fork and shredded the insides so it became spaghetti.

This is how much one half of the squash produced!

I put the other half just straight into a container for later.

Also, here's a helpful tip: when shredding your spaghetti squash, use a BIG FORK. The smaller forks just don't cut it. Your welcome.

I then seasoned the half I didn’t immediately put away with some butter and Greek seasoning (side note: Greek seasoning is the bomb. I use it on freakin’ everything. Asparagus, turkey burgers, chicken roasted with veggies, you name it). Here’s the final product:

It was “meh.” I don’t really know what I expected, but something more I guess. So I ended up driving to the Wendy’s around the corner and got some chicken nuggets to eat with it.

I put most of it (what’s not in the bowl above) away in the fridge. I have a feeling you are going to be seeing spaghetti squash on here for a few weeks as I try out different things with my leftovers in an attempt to want to eat it. (Note: The experiments to come in later posts will not be performed when posted. I don’t know how long this stuff keeps in the fridge and I don’t want it to end up on a Food Waste Friday post!)

