Stuffed Bell Peppers

open package; put in microwave; heat; eat

Back around Fat Tuesday (or if you please, Mardi Gras), my oven and microwave (which was above the stove) stopped working. My landlords took out the defunct microwave and bought me one that just goes on the counter, but it took a long time (read from March to June) to get the oven working again; so I had to get creative with my non-cooking skills.

Luckily, I purchased a crockpot a few years ago during a Black Friday sale. I love it. It makes good food and a lot of it–which isn’t always a blessing; I get pretty sick of eating the same thing for so long. Anyway, one day I was looking up recipes for the crockpot, tired of eating microwave/stove top prepared meals, and I discovered this site: A Year of Slow Cooking.

I have many tricks from that site that I’ve been meaning to try, so for my first Lazy Cooking post I decided to give her Slow Cooker Vegetarian Stuffed Bell Peppers recipe a try. I mean, what’s lazier than putting a bunch of crap in a crockpot and letting it cook?

I think they're dead.

😦

Now, I’m not gonna post the recipe here, because you follow the recipe she has on her site. I will, however, tell you how my attempt at it came out.

First off, I don’t have a freakin’ clue what size my crockpot is. Her recipe says to use a 6qt. crockpot and to cook 6 of these. Well mine must be smaller than that because I couldn’t fit six in there. I fit in four. Secondly, I was going to buy pretty, different color peppers, but the green ones where 69¢ each, so I bought just the green ones.
Moving on, I did a pretty good job at just eye balling the amounts needed for the recipe, given that I had to make less than the original. I could have gone all math on it, but where’s the fun in that? I also did the quick, 3-4 hours on high cooking method for them. They looked fine when I opened the crock pot to retrieve them. I think you can tell by the pic that I did not get them out with much success. I tried tongs, spoons, and a pie server on one of them before giving up and just scooping them out and onto a plate quickly before I made a mess all over my counter.
Appearances aside, they are pretty darn tasty. This is my first time doing this recipe, and I think with more practice I might be able to make them pretty. Good luck to any of you who try it on your own. It’s a good vegetarian dish if you are doing those Meatless Mondays or just want to eat something tasty that requires little effort. 

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. Pingback: Football Food: Crockpot Stuffed Bell Peppers + Fresh Whole Wheat Bread | Tequila Cupcakes

Comments are closed.