The Birthday Curse

I’m not sure when it started, but at some point my birthday became somewhat cursed. Things didn’t go right, I wouldn’t have fun and people would end up disappointing and hurting me. This was pretty much the story of my birthday all through out college. Before college, my birthdays weren’t so horrible, but still they weren’t anything terribly special either.

My first birthday after college, in New Orleans, was ok. Not horrible like some of the previous ones (such as the 21st birthday in which my ride left me, and no one had any fun and well…it just sucked), but again nothing special. A few gifts and a cake from my brother and his (at the time) wife. I was grateful for what I got and for the lack of tragedy, but the next year I was determined to have a GREAT f*cking birthday.

So came about the birth of the Moustache Party. I picked a bar with the help of friends, since I didn’t really know a lot of bars yet. The party was supposed to be in celebration of my gift to myself, a moustache tattooed on my index finger. Well the moustache tattoo didn’t happen for stupid reasons, but the party went on nonetheless. It was the best birthday party I had had probably since I was a little kid.

From Moustache Party 2009

So, in 2010, I threw a Moustache Party again. Same place, probably same time? It was just as fun and more magical a birthday! I feel blessed for having two amazing birthdays in a row–curse free!

I don't even know these guys! But lots of people I didn't know joined the party in 2010

I will be having yet another Moustache Party this year. I’m very much looking forward to it, as usual. I hope the good times continue!

Anyway, the point of this post is to share something I learned. Don’t rely on other people to make you feel special. Go out and create the fun and good times yourself! If you do this, then, more than likely, you will not be disappointed. I stopped waiting for people to throw me the party I wanted, and threw it myself, and I’ve never had better birthdays.

4 thoughts on “The Birthday Curse

  1. Cool happy birthday. They don’t do that here in California that I can find. Maybe I should do my own for mine the 28th. Great fun idea. Thanks and take care. I am glad it was cool.

    Like

  2. Duh sorry I was ahead of myself. I hope you have a great B-day and it was much better than any before. That is a cute idea. I will try it too. I worked all day and was tired. I never get enough done. Take care and have a great weekend.

    Like

Comments are closed.